Street Photography…01

B shared that it does not matter if a person likes your photo. What matters if you are happy and proud of what you have. You know what you want and capture it.

And I can’t remember where did I read it from. It says that, we should blog as we shoot. We should share what we had in mind, when we release the shutter.

So hitting me right now, I should post one photo here. I always find observing the people and happenings on street is fun. Recently, there was a “dare” going on.
To ask for portraits right on the street from strangers.
Being me, I was not comfortable doing it. I don’t know if it is because, I can’t do it in my own country.
90% of the time I AM HERE! Here I am ranting on, I will approach people when I’m in Taiwan in June 2013. HA! There it comes, why would one feel so comfortable to approach strangers for portraits during holidays or in a foreign country?

Any one has such thoughts? Or are you one who will approach on the streets? Let’s share some thoughts, please?

The friendly uncle

This is shot by M2, pushed ISO 1600, Tri-X 400 film, I think. This is in Little India, Singapore.
Uncle opens his shop from AM till 2000hrs or 2200hrs.
He did not object us from taking a shot of him. And we chatted.
How nice right?

It’s been a while since I shoot!

4 thoughts on “Street Photography…01

  1. How ever if you ask for permission. That is more like a “street portrait “. “Street photography ” in general usually is candid and discrete. However. Asking permission is a daring to do and gotta learn how to interact with strangers. I agree to that.

    • Hi ya~ I think its a progression. Like from street photography to street portraits. Asking permission or just shoot without asking. Many styles exist. Seeing grouchy faces everday makes me wonder if life is really that tough.

      I have yet gotten comfy approaching people. Haha

Leave a Reply

